Will Ross, MD, MPH

Associate Dean for Diversity, Principal Officer for Community Partnerships, Alumni Endowed Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology

Will Ross, MD, MPH is associate dean for diversity, principal officer for community partnerships, and alumni endowed professor of medicine in the Division of Nephrology at Washington University School of Medicine. While overseeing diversity and community affairs over the past two decades, Dr. Ross has recruited and developed a diverse group of medical students, residents and faculty. Ross helped establish free local medical clinics such as the Saturday Free Clinic and Casa de Salud, and has worked nationally and globally to promote health equity. He is a charter and founding member of the St. Louis Regional Health Commission, past Chairman of the St. Louis City Board of Health, and served as Chairman of the board of the Missouri Foundation for Health. He is a founder of the nonprofit Health Literacy Media and a founding member and board chairman of the Collegiate School of Medicine and Bioscience, a magnet high school for students pursuing careers in medicine and biomedical sciences. He is a co-founder of the Program in Public Health in Cap Haitien, Haiti. He is former member of the Centers for Disease Control Health Committee on Health Disparities, where he helped incorporate social determinants of health in the CDC promotions framework and Healthy People 2020. He served on the Institute of Medicine’s Health Literacy Roundtable, and is the founding associate editor of the public health journal, Frontiers in Public Health Education and Promotion. Dr. Ross has numerous scientific publications and book chapters and is co-author of the Lexington Press book Poverty and Place. Ross earned a bachelor’s degree from Yale University and an MD from the Washington University School of Medicine. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt and a Renal Fellowship at Washington University. He completed a Master’s degree in epidemiology at Saint Louis University. He is a recipient of the 2005 State of Missouri Martin Luther King Distinguished Service in Medicine Award, the 2009 Washington University Medical Center Alumni Faculty Achievement Award, the 2013 Samuel Goldstein Leadership in Medical Education Award and the 2020 Outstanding Scientist Trustee Award from the Academy of Science of St. Louis.